Quick Answer: What Happens If You Factory Reset Your Phone?

What do I lose if I reset my phone to factory settings?

A factory data reset erases your data from the phone.

While data stored in your Google Account can be restored, all apps and their data will be uninstalled.

To be ready to restore your data, make sure that it’s in your Google Account.

Find out how to back up your data..

Will a hard reset delete everything on my phone?

A factory data reset erases your data from the phone. While data stored in your Google Account can be restored, all apps and their data will be uninstalled. To be ready to restore your data, make sure that it’s in your Google Account. Learn how to back up your data.

What is the difference between flashing and factory reset?

Usually its ROM in . zip format that can be flashed from recovery. It usually format /system, extract files there and flash boot. … It let you data be in case you are just upgrading same ROM (in case you moved to different ROM, you also need to do factory reset).

How do I do a hard reset?

Turn off the phone and then press and hold the Volume Up key and Power key simultaneously until the Android system recover screen appears. Use the Volume Down key to highlight the “wipe data/factory reset” option and then use the Power button to make the selection.

Does a factory reset delete everything?

When you do a factory reset on your Android smartphone, it’s supposed to wipe it clean, but it doesn’t. It deletes the addresses of all of your data, so it no longer knows where it’s stored, but it doesn’t actually overwrite the data.

What is the difference between hard reset and factory reset?

The two terms factory and hard reset are associated with settings. A factory reset relates to the rebooting of the entire system, while hard resets relates to the resetting of any hardware in the system. … The factory reset makes the device function again in a new form. It cleans the entire system of the device.

How long does it take for a phone to factory reset?

about 10 minutesIf you are talking about a factory reset, I would say it takes about 10 minutes to complete. Note: A factory reset erases all data on your phone and brings it back to a default factory state. In many cases you can initiate a hard factory reset by switching off the phone and starting it up by pressing POWER+VOLUME UP.

Does factory reset remove viruses?

Running a factory reset, also referred to as a Windows Reset or reformat and reinstall, will destroy all data stored on the computer’s hard drive and all but the most complex viruses with it. Viruses can’t damage the computer itself and factory resets clear out where viruses hide.

Will I lose my photos if I reset my phone?

Regardless of whether you use a Blackberry, Android, iPhone or Windows phone, any photos or personal data will be irretrievably lost during a factory reset. You can’t get it back unless you have it backed up first. That said, the effect of wiping all the data on a phone is sometimes helpful.

What are the disadvantages of factory reset?

Disadvantages of FRP (Factory Reset Protection) LockYou may end up in losing your data.It’s technically a breach of Android settings.It may be risky.Data stored on external storage can’t be erased.All your information will be deleted and you can’t restore it back unless you’ve taken its backup.More items…•

Does factory reset remove your Google account?

Originally Answered: Does a factory reset remove Google account? Yes, a factory reset removes all accounts from your device. It brings the device back to the time when u bought it.

What does a hard factory reset do?

A hard reset, also known as a factory reset or master reset, is the restoration of a device to the state it was in when it left the factory. All settings, applications and data added by the user are removed. … Hard reset contrasts with soft reset, which just means to restart a device.

Is it bad to factory reset your phone?

It will not remove the device’s operating system (iOS, Android, Windows Phone) but will go back to its original set of apps and settings. Also, resetting it doesn’t harm your phone, even if you end up doing it multiple times.

Can I reset my phone without losing everything?

Go to “Settings” app and navigate to the “Backup > Reset > Reset Settings” tabs. Step 2. If you have the option that says “Reset Settings”, then it’s possible for you to reset only settings without losing storage data. However, if the option says “Reset Phone” then you will lose your data.